Sven Kacirek – The Kenya Encores

Sven Kacirek – The Kenya Encores
Pingipung 054
* VAT incl., + Shipping

Five years ago Sven Kacirek released his legendary album The Kenya Sessions. The drummer's collaboration with musicians from Kenya connected electronic, instrumental and field recordings in a unique manner and received kudos from various scenes between techno and world music. For the fifth anniversary Sven Kacirek delivers two more songs with previously unreleased material: The Kenya Encores.

 

“Siguera” on the A-side is a beautiful gem featuring the 80-year-old singer Ogoya Nengo. The song has been recorded in Rangala Village at the Viktoria Lake, the exact location where Kacirek had recorded her contributions to the original Kenya Sessions. In the course of her collaboration with Kacirek, Ogoya Nengo has established an international career herself and released two solo albums. The voice on “Siguera” originates from recordings for her first album which was released on the English label Honest Jon's. It has been produced by Sven Kacirek and Stefan Schneider (To Rococo Rot).

 

The B-side, “Gonda”, is built upon a recording which Kacirek had made in the process of the “Kenya Sessions” five years ago. It was meant to be a part of the album but has found its final shape only now. 

 

The original field recording for “Gonda” is also included in the digital release of this single. It elucidates Sven Kacirek's musical approach which he has developed over the past years. While the field recordings for the “Kenya Sessions” have been cut and edited to merge into the compositions, Kacirek meanwhile chooses not to change or process the source material at all. Similar to a live session he merely adds his own percussions to create a balanced dialogue. This artistic strategy has also been applied in his last solo album “Songs From Okinawa”.

About  |  Newsletter  |  Shipping Info  |  Contact  |  Imprint  |  Datenschutzerklärung

Sven Kacirek – The Kenya Encores

Sven Kacirek – The Kenya Encores
Pingipung 054
* inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand

Vor fünf Jahren erschien Sven Kacireks legendäres Album „The Kenya Sessions“. Die Kooperation des Hamburger Schlagzeugers mit kenianischen Musikern verband auf eine einzigartige Weise und Weise elektronische und afrikanische Klänge und wurde deshalb in den unterschiedlichsten Kontexten von der Techno- bis zur Weltmusik-Szene gefeiert. Zum fünfjährigen Jubiläum legt Sven Kacirek nun zwei Zugaben nach: die Kenya Encores.
Auf dem wundervollen Kleinod „Siguera“ auf der A-Seite ist die Stimme der 80-jährigen Sängerin Ogoya Nengo zu hören. Das Stück wurde in Rangala Village am Viktoria See aufgenommen, wo damals bereits ihre Beiträge zu den „Kenya Sessions“ entstanden sind. Im Zuge der Arbeit mit Kacirek hat Ogoya Nengo mittlerweile internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregt und zwei Solo-Alben veröffentlicht. Der Gesang zu „Siguera“ stammt von den Aufnahmen zu ihrer ersten Platte, die auf dem britischen Label Honest Jon's erschienen ist und von Kacirek zusammen mit Stefan Schneider (Kreidler, To Rococo Rot) produziert wurde.  
Die B-Seite „Gonda“ basiert auf einer Aufnahme, die bereits 2009 auf der Reise entstanden ist, aus der die „Kenya Sessions“ hervorgingen. Sie sollte eigentlich schon für das Album verwendet werden.
In der digitalen Version der „Kenya Encores“ ist als Bonus die Original-Feldaufnahme von „Gonda“ zu hören. Sie führt dem Hörer Sven Kacireks musikalische Herangehensweise vor Ohren, wie sie über die Jahre gewachsen ist: Während die Feldaufnahmen der „Kenya Sessions“ teilweise stark editiert und neu zusammengesetzt wurden, hat Kacirek hier das Ausgangsmaterial unberührt belassen und selber nur sanft durch eigene Klänge ergänzt. Diese Arbeitsweise kam schon bei seinem letzten Album „Songs From Okinawa“ zum Einsatz. 

 

Tracks:

A Siguera (feat. Ogoya Nengo)
B Gonda (feat. Mr. Karisa Kobe)

Digital Bonus:
Gonda (Fieldrec)

Über Uns  |  Newsletter  |  Versandinfos  |  Kontakt  |  Impressum