Andi Otto – VIA

Andi Otto – VIA
Pingipung 053
* VAT incl., + Shipping

VIA is Andi Otto's fourth solo album, on which he presents his music under his actual name instead of the Springintgut moniker. Hundreds, mostly incognizable microsamples of vocal, instrumental and percussive snippets which Otto found on vintage Indian movie soundtracks, build the atmospheric foundation for the eleven tracks. Embraced by a slow, relaxed and steady kickdrum, this buzzing backdrop features a mix of instruments and musicians.

First of all, there are the mesmerizing vocals of MD Pallavi in two tracks. Her South Indian singing style erupt in a virtuosic, percussive solo on both Bangalore Whispers and the title track VIA. Andi Otto and MD Pallavi have worked in a studio in Bangalore during summer 2016 and will present the album in live concerts during their Japan tour in April 2017. 

Throughout the album, Otto's string instruments cello, harp and psaltery are woven into the beat structures or play the themes of the tracks (Kyoto Pebbles, Bandini Beach). In the STEIM studio in Amsterdam Andi Otto had the chance to record the local engineer Sybren Danz with his self-built modular synthesizers as well as a Roland System 100, one of the greatest classic anaolg synths.  (Everybody Needs a Modular Kraut Session, Dharti Cash Puke).

VIA introduces an experimental take on the slowed up dancefloor, which at times reminds of artists like James Pants, Deadbeat or Onra. The grooves are repetitive, but they never dwell in one place for too long. VIA is a journey, an ode to the state of mind of being on the way. There is no better way for Andi Otto to turn the experiences of his tours and travels into an album.

Live:

Jan 20 2017 Paradiso, Amsterdam

Jan 26 2017 Fabrique, Hamburg

Feb 19 2017 Kulturbäckerei, Lüneburg

Mar 09 2017 Klunkerkranich, Berlin

Mar 18 2017 Kammerspiele (Bar), München

Apr 06-25 2017 Japan, various cities (with MD Pallavi)

May 10 2017 Christianshavns Beboerhus, Kopenhagen (Live at The Lake Radio)

About  |  Newsletter  |  Shipping Info  |  Contact  |  Imprint

Andi Otto – VIA

Andi Otto – VIA
Pingipung 053
* inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versand

VIA ist Andi Ottos viertes Soloalbum, auf dem er seine Musik unter seinem echten Namen präsentiert anstatt des seit 2002 genutzten Künstlernamens Springintgut. 

Hunderte großteils unkenntlicher Mikrosamples von Stimm-, Instrumenten- und Perkussionsfetzen, die Otto auf alten LPs mit indischen Film-Soundtracks gefunden hat, bilden das atmosphärische Rückgrat der elf Tracks. Vor diesem knisternd-flirrenden Hintergrund, den eine entschleunigte, gerade Kickdrum zusammenhält, präsentiert Otto diverse Musiker und Instrumente. 

Zuallererst ist da die betörende Stimme von MD Pallavi auf zwei Stücken. Ihre südindischen Gesangstechniken zeigen sich in zwei virtuosen, perkussiven Vokalsolos auf "Bangalore Whispers" und dem Titeltrack "VIA" von der allerbesten Seite. Andi Otto und MD Pallavi haben im Sommer 2016 in einem Studio in Bangalore intensiv an gemeinsamer Musik gearbeitet und werden bei der Japan-Tour zum Album im April 2017 gemeinsam auf der Bühne stehen. 

Ottos Saiteninstrumente Cello, Harfe und Psalter sind durchweg auf dem ganzen Album zu hören. Gezupfte, gestrichene und prozessierte Saitenklänge hat er in die Beatstrukturen eingewoben oder sie spielen die melodischen Motive der Tracks ("Kyoto Pebbles", "Bandini Beach"). Im STEIM Studio in Amsterdam hatte Andi Otto außerdem die Gelegenheit, sowohl den Künstler und Techniker Sybren Danz mit seinem selbstgebauten modularen Synthesizer aufzunehmen als auch ein Roland System 100, einen der großartigsten klassischen analogen Synths.  ("Everybody Needs a Modular Kraut Session", "Dharti Cash Puke").

VIA biete eine experimentelle Perspektive auf den verlangsamten Dancefloor und ist doch ständig voller Energie. Zeitweise erinnert das Album an die Arbeiten von Künstlern wie James Pants, Deadbeat oder Onra. Die Grooves sind repetitiv, aber sie verweilen niemals lange auf einem Fleck. VIA ist eine Reise, eine Ode an den Geisteszustand des Unterwegs-Seins. Man kann sich keinen besseren Weg vorstellen, um Andi Ottos Erfahrungen auf Reisen und Tourneen als Album zu erleben.

Live:

Jan 20 2017 Paradiso, Amsterdam

Jan 26 2017 Fabrique im Gängeviertel, Hamburg

Feb 19 2017 Kulturbäckerei, Lüneburg

Mar 09 2017 Klunkerkranich, Berlin

Mar 18 2017 Kammerspiele (Bar), München

Apr 06-25 2017 Japan, various cities (with MD Pallavi)

May 10 2017 Christianshavns Beboerhus, Kopenhagen (Live at The Lake Radio)

Über Uns  |  Newsletter  |  Versandinfos  |  Kontakt  |  Impressum