Andi Otto – Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi)

Andi Otto – Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi)
Pingipung 52

Andi Otto (also known as Springintgut) and MD Pallavi, a singer from South India, release their first collaborative track as a limited 7inch and download.

MD Pallavi is a singer and one of the most prominent protagonists of the traditional music scene in and around Bangalore. Andi Otto (aka Springintgut) has collaborated with her in the past years in various theatre productions, and here they reveal their first track.

Otto's composition for “Bangalore Whispers” creates the backbone for Pallavi's virtuoso performance of carnatic (traditional South-Indian) syllables. The track pulses on 95 bpm with an organic cluster of piano and cello strings, over which the vocals erupt in a mesmerizing vocal solo in the middle of the track.

The B-side “6-6-6-5” is made exclusively for this 7inch release. It builds upon a one-line-sample from a vintage Indian movie soundtrack and amplifies this energy into a euphoric rhythm to which Otto bows the strings of a Psalterium (a beautiful east european string instrument, which Otto plays with two bows. It actually sounds similar to a sitar, when it's plucked).

Prelisten here

Andi Otto: Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi) from Pingipung Records on Vimeo.

Official Video by Noriaki Okamoto and Ryosuke Kikuchi
Music: Andi Otto | Voice: MD Pallavi
Direction & Camera: Noriaki Okamoto & Ryosuke Kikuchi | Featuring: Masumi Saito

About  |  Newsletter  |  Shipping Info  |  Contact  |  Imprint

Andi Otto – Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi)

"Bangalore Whispers" markiert die erste offizielle Zusammenarbeit von Andi Otto (alias Springintgut) und MD Pallavi, einer Sängerin aus Südindien.

MD Pallavi ist eine prominente Protagonistin der traditionellen Musikszene in und um Bangalore. Andi Otto hat mit ihr den vergangen Jahren schon in verschiedenen Theaterproduktionen zusammengearbeitet. Mit dieser Single hört die Welt ihr erstes gemeinsames Stück. 

Ottos Track “Bangalore Whispers” bildet das Fundament für Pallavis virtuose Performance von karnatischen, (traditionellen südindischen) Silben. Der Track pulsiert auf 95 BPM mit einem Cluster aus Piano, Cello und Psalterium, über das die Vocals in der Mitte des Stücks zu einem hypnotischen Solo ausbrechen.

Die B-Seite “6-6-6-5” erscheint exklusiv nur auf der Vinyl-Single, nicht digital. Der Track basiert auf einem kurzen Vocalsample aus einem indischen Soundtrack der 80er und überträgt dessen Ausgelassenheit auf einen überschäumenden Beat, zu dem Otto Psalterium spielt. Dabei handelt es sich um ein wenig verbreitetes, osteuropäisches Saiteninstrument. Otto spielt es hier mit zwei Bögen. Gezupft ähnelt der Sound einer Sitar.

Hier reinhören

Andi Otto: Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi) from Pingipung Records on Vimeo.

Official Video by Noriaki Okamoto and Ryosuke Kikuchi
Music: Andi Otto | Voice: MD Pallavi
Direction & Camera: Noriaki Okamoto & Ryosuke Kikuchi | Featuring: Masumi Saito

Über Uns  |  Newsletter  |  Versandinfos  |  Kontakt  |  Impressum